Five UTMB Alumni Honored with Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus Awards

Five UTMB Alumni Honored with Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus Awards

2 Minute Read

Five exceptional University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston School of Medicine alumni were announced earlier this month as the 2017 Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumnus award winners.

The award honors the memory of Dr. Ashbel Smith. Smith was instrumental in establishing The University of Texas at Austin in 1881 and, in 1891, a medical department in Galveston that would become UTMB.

The newly inducted awardees are:

Dr. Milton L. Routt Jr.
Class of 1983

During his career Dr. Routt served as the Dr. Andrew R. Burgess Professor and Endowed Chair in the department of orthopedic surgery at the University of Texas McGovern Medical School in Houston. He currently works at Memorial Hermann Hospital where he serves on the faculty senate, the medical executive committee, co-chairman of the quality committee and is the president of the surgical council. Routt has directly mentored and educated more than 150 practicing orthopedic traumatologists in the U.S. and Canada.

Dr. R. Bruce Shack
Class of 1973

While a medical student at UTMB Shack spent a year at St. Bartholomew’s Hospital in London, England under the sponsorship of Dr. Truman Blocker, former president of UTMB. During his career, Shack served as vice president of the American Society of Plastic Surgeons, president of the Nashville Surgical Society, president of the Southeastern Society of Plastic and Reconstructive surgeons and president of the Southern Medical Association.

Dr. Ned Snyder III
Class of 1970

Snyder is a second-generation UTMB graduate. He returned to Galveston in 2002 after leaving a private practice in Waco. He became chief of clinical gastroenterology, vice chairman of internal medicine and in charge of UTMB’s internal medicine clinics. He was president of the UTMB School of Medicine Alumni Association from 2005-07. Currently, he is chief of gastroenterology and hepatology at Kelsey-Seybold Clinic in Houston.

Dr. Robert H. Squires Jr.
Class of 1977

Since his graduation from UTMB Squires co-founded a private practice in pediatric gastroenterology at Cook Children’s Medical Center in Fort Worth. He also has served on the faculty at Texas Southwestern Medical School and the Children’s Medical Center. Currently, Squires is professor of pediatrics at the University Of Pittsburgh School of Medicine in the division of pediatric gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition at the Children’s Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC where he is the primary liver transplant physician.

Dr. James R. Winn
Class of 1967

Winn was inducted as a Charter Fellow of the American Academy of Family Practice in 1973. He established a private practice in his hometown of Uvalde and during that time served several terms as chief of staff of the local hospital and served as president of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians. He left private practice in 1989 to become the executive vice-president and CEO of the Federation of State Medical Boards of the United States. Winn also served as a reserve officer of the U.S. Army and retired as a colonel after 20 years. Winn has returned to part-time private practice in Fort Worth.

Back to top