San José Clinic volunteer pharmacist VICTORIA PHO, PHARM.D, was honored by the Houston Texans as a finalist for the United Way Community Quarterback award at a Texans game in December, where Pho received a $5,000 check for San José Clinic.
HOUSTON METHODIST held a “Rendezvous of the Century” gala in November at Minute Maid Park to celebrate its 100th anniversary. The gala hosted 2,500 guests and raised more than $9.5 million to attract and retain physicians, accelerate translational research and promote patient healing. Credit: Johnny Than)
WILLIAM F. McKEON, CEO and president of the Texas Medical Center, was honorary chair of 2019’s “Sleep Out: Executive Edition,” a Covenant House Texas fundraiser that raised $1 million to help homeless youth.
Cancer survivors Allison Rosen and Alma Faz cut the ribbon at the opening of the Adolescent and Young Adult Oncology Program’s new clinic at THE UNIVERSITY OF TEXAS MD ANDERSON CANCER CENTER. The program gives a growing number of teens and young adult patients services and support. Faz is now an MD Anderson employee working at the same hospital that saved her life. (Credit: Thomas Campbell)
JOSETTE ARMENDARIZ-BATISTE, DNP, RN, is the new System Chief Nursing and Patient Care Services Executive at The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston (UTMB Health). She served in the role in an interim capacity starting May 2019.
MARIA ELENA BOTTAZZI, PH.D., professor and associate dean of the National School of Tropical Medicine at Baylor College of Medicine and co-director of Texas Children’s Hospital Center for Vaccine Development, was inducted into the National Academy of Science of Honduras.
CAROLYN OLIVAREZ, LVN, CPTC, CPHQ, has been promoted to vice president of quality and regulatory compliance at LifeGift and will join the organization’s strategic governance council.
JOHN COOKE, M.D., PH.D., chair of the cardiovascular sciences department at Houston Methodist Research Institute and director of the Houston Methodist Center for Cardiovascular Regeneration, has been elected Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors, class of 2019.
CEDRIC DARK, M.D., MPH, assistant professor of emergency medicine at Baylor College of Medicine, was named to the Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association’s 2019 45 under 45 list.
DIANE M. SANTA MARIA, DRPH, MSN, RN, the Dorothy T. Nicholson Distinguished Professor and interim dean for Cizik School of Nursing at UTHealth, and Cizik School of Nursing vice dean for academic affairs CATHY L. ROZMUS, PH.D., RN, were selected as 2019 American Academy of Nursing fellows. They attended the academy’s annual policy conference in Washington, D.C.
LOUISE D. McCULLOUGH, M.D., PH.D., the Roy M. and Phyllis Gough Huffington Distinguished Chair of Neurology at McGovern Medical School at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) and chief of neurology at Memorial Hermann-TMC, has been honored with the 2019 Stroke Council Award and Lecture by the American Heart Association. (Credit: Country Park Portraits)
ALICE McPHERSON, M.D., professor of ophthalmology at Baylor College of Medicine, received the 2019 Retina Hall of Fame Award for her contributions to the field of retinal diseases.
STEVEN D. POWELL, MSN, RN-BC, the People with Disabilities program manager for Michael E. DeBakey VA Medical Center, has been appointed to the Health Policy Committee of the Association of Rehabilitation Nurses for the 2020 term.
RONALD McDONALD HOUSE HOUSTON CEO Rick Noriega, Harris County Judge Lina Hidalgo and Ronald McDonald helped kick off the 10th annual Trafigura Run for the House. The race raised more than $622,000 for Ronald McDonald House Houston, a home away from home for families with seriously ill children.
WINELL HERRON, KAREN MILES and KELLI COHEN FEIN, M.D., chaired the annual Men of Substance Black Tie Gala, which raises money to fight sickle cell.
Field Notes

Field Notes: February 2020

See All Photos

Field Notes: February 2020

To view all Field Notes photos, visit TMC Pulse.

Recommended News

Back to top