Roger W. Anderson: ‘Indelible Leadership Marks’

Thursday, April 20, 2017 | 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. Add to Calendar

Roger W. Anderson, DrPH, R.Ph., FASHP, a nationally recognized leader in health-system pharmacy, will present “Indelible Leadership Marks” Thursday, April 20, at the University of Houston College of Pharmacy’s Texas Medical Center Campus.

Currently retired, Anderson provides Health-System Pharmacy consulting and serves on the College of Pharmacy advisory boards of the University of Houston, The Ohio State University, and Ferris State University. Anderson recently held the position of Chief Pharmacy Officer with US Oncology (now McKesson Specialty Health) from 2009 to 2011. From 2004 to 2008, he was Senior Vice President and Chief Pharmacist with Medco Health Solutions. For 26 years, he was Vice President and Head of the Division of Pharmacy at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston (from 1978 to 2004).

Anderson received his undergraduate pharmacy degree from Ferris State University, M.S. in Hospital Pharmacy from The Ohio State University 8, and completed an accredited Residency in Hospital Pharmacy at Grant Hospital and Doctorate in Public Health from The University of Texas School of Public Health in Houston.

Anderson has been active with professional organizations throughout his career, including serving as president of the Central Ohio Society of Hospital Pharmacists, president of the Ohio Society of Hospital Pharmacists and president of the American Society of Hospital Pharmacists. He was appointed member to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy in 1999 and served through 2006, during which time he also served as board president. Anderson also completed a multi-year term on the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties. He currently serves on the Board of The Center for Pharmacy Practice Accreditation representing ASHP.

Anderson has received distinguished alumnus awards from both Ferris State University and The Ohio State University (The Jack Beal Award). In 1988, he received the Clifton J. Latiolais Award from The Ohio State University, and in 1992, he received the Harvey A.K. Whitney Award. He also has received the Distinguished Service Award and the Meritorious Service Award from UHCOP. Anderson has authored more than 60 publications in the field of health-system pharmacy. His research interests include the safe handling of antineoplastic agents, drug delivery technology, drug use management, medication safety, and outcomes research.


UH College of Pharmacy TMC Campus

1441 Moursund, Room 112


Rontavia Sanders